City Council

The local municipal government in Kamloops is made up of eight elected Councillors and an elected Mayor. The council represents the residents of Kamloops for a four year term.

City council is responsible for city service levels for things like parks, parking, libraries, roadways, local police, local land use, fire protection, public transportation, and community water systems. Additionally, city council also sets the tax rate and approves the city’s budget.